van Leeuwenhoek Award

The KNVM/NVMM science committee offers the Van Leeuwenhoek Awards to young post-docs in microbiology (<5 years after obtaining a PhD degree) for the best publication as first, last and/or corresponding author published in the past year. The Van Leeuwenhoek Awards are established to commemorate Antonie van Leeuwenhoek, known for his pioneering work in microscopy, who was the first to observe microorganisms and therefore became the ‘father of microbiology’. The prizes are annually awarded at the KNVM/NVMM Scientific Spring Meeting. The Jury consists of members of the KNVM/NVMM science committee.

You can mail your submission to


  • 2022 Daniel Hurdiss
    Fluoxetine targets an allosteric site in the enterovirus 2C AAA+ ATPase and stabilizes a ring-shaped hexameric complex
    Sci Adv . 2022 8:eabj7615.
    Utrecht University

  • 2022 Julia Kurth
    Methanogenic archaea use a bacteria-like methyltransferase system to demethoxylate aromatic compounds
    ISME J . 2021 15:3549-3565.
    Radboud University Nijmegen

  • 2022 Catalin Bunduc
    Structure and dynamics of a mycobacterial type VII secretion system
    Nature. 2021 593:445-448.
    ​​​​​​​VU University Amsterdam

  • 2021 Wouter Versantvoort
    Multiheme hydroxylamine oxidoreductases produce NO during ammonia oxidation in methanotrophs. 
    Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2020;117(39):24459-24463.
    Radboud University Nijmegen
  • 2018 Louis Ates
    VU University Medical Center Amsterdam 

  • 2017 Antoni Hendrickx
    University Medical Center Utrecht 
  • 2016 Sebastian Lücker
    Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen

  • 2015 Reindert Nijland
    Universiteit van Wageningen

  • 2013 Hilde van Tongeren-van der Schaar
    Universiteit Utrecht
  • 2011 Boran Kartal
    Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen