Van Leeuwenhoek Award

The KNVM/NVMM science committee offers the Van Leeuwenhoek Awards to young Postdocs in microbiology (5 years after obtaining your PhD) for the best publication as first, last and/or corresponding author, one each in the categories "general microbiology", "medical microbiology", or "microbial ecology". The Van Leeuwenhoek Awards, which were first awarded in 2009, are in commemoration of Antonie van Leeuwenhoek. Van Leeuwenhoek constructed a light microscope, which could magnify a few hundred times. This achievement made him a pioneer in the field of microbiology. The prizes are annually awarded at the KNVM/NVMM Scientific Spring Meeting. The Jury consists of members of the KNVM/NVMM science committee.

You can mail your submission to


  • 2021 Wouter Versantvoort

  • 2018 Louis Ates
    VU University Medical Center Amsterdam 

  • 2017 Antoni Hendrickx
    University Medical Center Utrecht 
  • 2016 Sebastian Lücker
    Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen

  • 2015 Reindert Nijland
    Universiteit van Wageningen

  • 2013 Hilde van Tongeren-van der Schaar
    Universiteit Utrecht
  • 2011 Boran Kartal
    Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen