News archive

Call for nominees for IUMS awards

The International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS) is now calling for submissions of nominees for the following awards which will be presented at the IUMS Congresses to be held in Singapore in July 2017. Nominations must be received by April 15 2017.

  • Arima Award for Applied Microbiology
    The Arima Award was established from a generous endowment provided from Mrs. K. Arima in commemoration of her husband, Professor K. Arima (IUMS President 1986-1988).
  • Stuart Mudd Award for Studies in Basic Microbiology 
    The Stuart Mudd Award was organized and endowed permanently by the World Academy of Art and Science, through the generous endowment provided by Dr. Emily Hartshorne Mudd.

Award nominations should consist of a letter describing the candidate’s credentials in detail as well as a current curriculum vita in which the candidate’s five most important publications are highlighted. The nomination materials may be submitted either electronically or as hard copies. Further details may be obtained from:

Dr. Mariagrazia Pizza - Research Center. Novartis Vaccines. Via Fiorentina 1, 53100 Siena (Italy). Phone: +39 0577243087. Fax: +39 0577243564. Email:

Or visit our website for more information:


Log in to read and post comments